Pink pens are everywheeeere!

A couple of months ago, I attended a professional development thingy for day-job. I actually presented for the first time during it, which was an interesting and terrifying experience – I was exhausted at the end of it from all of the nervous energy that was whizzing around. So on the second day of the thingy, I opted for the fluffier sounding workshops, one of which was titled “A creative approach to goal setting” and involved creating a visual board. Imagine my delight when I walked in and saw the glue sticks, scissors and magazines for cutting up.

Before they would let me at the craft tools, we first had to do a visualising exercise: imagining ourselves in 5 years time. The facilitator would prompt us with questions (“How do you feel in this future?” “What work are you doing?”) and my co-professional developers would furiously scribble down their imaginings. I was flummoxed – there was nothing there. All I could think of was my current day-job location and my current self. Then I started to panic – I don’t WANT to be here in 5 years time, quick, DO SOMETHING. Out of sheer desperation, I scribbled on my page: “Pink pens are everywheeeeeere!”

As soon as I wrote it down, I felt better. Imagining my future working environment is too big an ask – I have no idea what I’ll be doing in 5 years, my dreams change every week! But if I follow that philosophy and make sure that pink pens are everywhe(eeee)re, I think I’ll be ok.

[Side bar: I’m at day-job right now, and do you think there is a pink pen in sight? No. Note to self – buy a pink pen at lunchtime and start living the dream. While there are no pink pens in sight, I myself am having a very pink day. I am wearing the fluffiest (SO FLUFFY!) pink jumper you can imagine, my nails are painted pastel pink and I am carrying a pink purse. Would you believe when I was a kid I wanted to be a boy? I don’t know when pink became so dominant in my day to day palette.]

Leave a Reply

