Weekend craft update

We had some wild weather in Auckland over the weekend. Saturday was actually stunning, so I enjoyed a day out in the city checking out the Auckland Craft Fair then lunching at the Northern Steamship Co in Britomart. Thoroughly enjoyed both – the Craft Fair was packed with people, so didn’t get to see quite as much as I would have liked, but hey! Great to see so many people out in support of handmade.

I also popped into The Embroiderer in Birkenhead for some help on my blackwork. I have to give a big shout out to these guys – the lady was so very helpful and reassured me that I was doing well and had indeed come a long way with my technique, from the first tiki I attempted. Hurrah! She showed me a beautiful book (Made in France: Blackwork by Sonia Lucano) which of course I had to have. The lady – darn, wish I had gotten her name – was really kind – she showed me the book as an example of how a stitch should go, then I think might have thought I felt pressured to buy, so we did a little dance of “I want it” “You don’t have to buy it” before she finally succumbed. I have a bit of an obsession for crafty books – some people like cook books and can’t walk past them, and I am like that with craft books. Made in France: Blackwork doesn’t have a lot of words – just lots of beautiful, inspiring pictures and the helpful charts at the back so you can get started on the various projects. In light of it being light on words, I think I will focus on this book in my first book review, later today.

Sunday brought rain and wind, so a perfect day to nestle down and get stuck into some crafty pursuits. First on the list was my pukeko applique that I’ve been procrastinating on, mainly because I haven’t been able to find a pukeko template to have a go at. I am wanting to applique this into a onesie for a friend’s 1 year old baby, so revisited this project yesterday afternoon. It certainly doesn’t look like a pukeko, so has now morphed into another bird of indeterminable species. I’ve never done anything like this before so am enjoying the tiny little stitches – need to redo that beak though, it’s looking very clumsy!

The pukeko that wasn't

The pukeko that wasn’t

Then of course it was Tiki-time. Finished all of the white ones and think I could possibly knock off the first and only black version tonight. Must remember to take a photo!

Leave a Reply

