A lurgie took me down

Last week was a quiet week for crafting – I’m blaming a dirty lurgie that snuck up on me while my defenses were down. I’ve been a sniffly, blocked up, sore eared mess for the last week – finally feel like I might be getting on top of it today after a glorious 9.5 hour sleep last night! Glorious for me… Not so much for my husband who had to vacate to the spare room due to Olympic-level snoring. Sorry ’bout that!

So in between nose-dabbing and sorry-for-myself-feeling, I haven’t felt inclined to do much of anything until this weekend, in which I finally made some headway on my crazy-patch footstool cover. I have taken some photos in progress which I’ll post once it is all finished, with a tutorial to explain how I did it. Warning: quilting purists possibly shouldn’t read that tutorial, I think I have broken some rules! Namely the use of heat-bonding seams, and machine-stitching the decorative top stitching. I think I probably could have knocked the project off last night but I ran out of thread – who would have thought! So I’m off to the Little Craft Store in Pt Chev at lunch for a dose of heaven and to purchase the thread. They have a fab special in store until tomorrow (Tuesday 14th August), so I am probably going to walk out with more than thread. What a lovely way to spend lunchtime (away from day-job AND in craft heaven)!

Once the footstool project is finished, I think it might be time to up-hook and get back into some crochet. For a blog that was originally supposed to be largely about my love for hooking, it has taken a bit of a backseat and I’m feeling guilty. I think my next project will be a Granny Square throw in bright popping red, baby blue and one other colour yet to be decided upon. I’ve never made anything more than the one granny square, so it will be quite an undertaking to finish a whole throw. Stay tuned – once I get started I will take pictures as I go.

Leave a Reply

