Craft rage

When it happens, it isn’t pretty. You can usually feel it coming – starts with eye-rubbing (a certain indicator that it is time to put down your tools), progresses into swearing at your tools, and occasionally escalates into a full blown craft tanty.

This happened to me last night.

I’ve been working on the crazy patch stool cushion for the last couple of nights. You can tell my enthusiasm for this project by my evening dedication – after 8+ hours at Day Job, I am often not inclined to craft in the evenings. But I really want this project finished (I admit that my key motivator is to post the photos up here) so have been beavering away. Last night I thought I would definitely finish – I completed all my decorative top stitches, pressed the finished product nicely and went to gun-staple the fabric to my cushion base/pad.

(I should mention here that I am the proud and diligent guardian of the gun-stapler at Day Job. I don’t know how this came to pass, but I take my responsibility seriously. The perk of this is that I am free to take it home whenever my crafts demand it. Others are welcome to use it – they just have to ask for it and return it immediately after use.)

So here I am: gun-stapler primed for action, I squeezed the trigger and …. nothing. I looked inside and sure enough the last person that used it hadn’t replenished the staples, and of course I had not thought to bring the staples home with me. Cue the mother of all craft rage tantrums. Stomping, swearing, thumping. I even attempted a work around! No, a regular stapler will not do the trick here.

(I should also mention here that I am aware there are legitimate excuses to be made and some personal responsibility to be taken here. 1) The previous user may not have realised they’d used the last staple. It could happen. 2) I could have checked the stapler before I brought it home. 3) I could have brought the staples home as well. I know all of this. But you would have been a crazy person to try and apply that logic last night when I was mid-rant.)

Incidentally, I calmed down almost immediately and began my next project, which is a felt box for my nephew’s second birthday. Phase one was cutting a whole in the paper mache box and painting the whole thing white. I’ve been photographing as I’ve gone and will post a tutorial afterwards if it turns out halfway decent.

And in the night of night-time (i.e. couch and TV o’clock) I finally picked up my hook again and began my granny square throw. I’m two squares in – this is going to be a slow process!

One thought on “Craft rage

  1. Pingback: The finished stool | byhook

Leave a Reply

