The finished stool

Ok ew – potty humour, but that title is a bit on the icky side. Note how I left it there? I just luuurve potty humour.

So I’m feeling rather pleased with myself this morning. I’ve enjoyed a nice looooong weekend, which involved various crafty pursuits. On Friday I finally finished the stool that has been a work in progress for a couple of weeks, and ended in craft rage last Wednesday night. I am absolutely delighted with how it turned out and am very pleased that this will be the focus of my very first entry into Handmade Harbour’s Handmade Monday.

As well as finishing the stool, I’ve sewn a book bag for my adorable nephew’s 2nd birthday today, as well as making a few birthday cards and envelopes with my fabuloso Silhouette Cameo. Yesterday I spent almost the full day getting acquainted with this amazing machine and I am so pleased to have one. Funny how creativity works – once you get started, the enthusiasm and creative ideas just keep on rolling. In fact I’m feeling so inspired that this morning I emailed one of our local markets about selling at their September market – now that’s a motivator, I’m kicking myself for not bringing any activities to work on at lunchtime today.

The sun is shining outside, it’s a short week for me at Day Job (always a bonus!) and I feel like a crafty winner. Hurray for handmade!

13 thoughts on “The finished stool

  1. I love that stool – the red and white is so striking. I agree about creativity: one creative idea develops into another and before you know it there are hundreds of ideas clamouring for attention. Welcome to Handmade Monday – enjoy x

    • Thanks very much Wendy – I am such a fan of those colour together. My photos don’t really do the colour justice – it is a lovely magenta-y pink. I adore it and want to plaster it everywhere. Thankfully I have more of the fabric so can use it for yet more projects. And I hear you re: creative ideas clamouring for attention! The dark side of that is waking up at 3am with a burning idea, as I did this morning!

    • Thanks so much for admiring my stool (and my potty humour). Me and mine love it – others aren’t quite so amused by it so always lovely to hear from people who share my sense of humour 🙂

    • Thanks very much Helen! It was a really fun process (craft-rage aside of course) and I was so pleased with the results. I’m already scouting around for another!

    • Thanks very much Hannah! Hard to believe that it is already Monday again and I’m thinking about composing my next post for Handmade Monday 🙂

  2. Welcome to Handmade Monday (even though it is now Wednesday!). Fab stool and it sounds like you’ve been busy! Not sure what a Silhouette Cameo is – I guess I will have to wait and see. Have a good week, Jo x

    • Thanks Pickle-Lily – and thanks for stopping by! And yes stay tuned – this week’s Handmade Harbour post may feature something about the Silhouette Cameo, it is the most amazing cutting machine in my humble opinion 🙂

  3. I really like the bright clean colors. You did a fab job. I have done a little of this, but not so well. It’s harder than it looks. 🙂

    • Thanks very much Susie, I also love the colours, they really “pop” especially against the white paint. It was one of those projects that had me groaning about halfway through – then thankfully I found a second wind and finished it happily enough. Not sure if I would rush to do another one – so that’s an indication of the work involved! 🙂

Leave a Reply

