Quick weekend W.I.P

I’ve had one of those whirlwind weekends that has left me feeling unsure if I am coming or going. Saturday was a craft write-off in the nicest sense of the word – I had my nephew’s 2nd birthday party. The morning saw me “slaving” over mini cupcakes which were a great success, and we weren’t home until late in the afternoon. My husband set off to do some remote control car racing and I was left with the gift of an evening at home alone (something that rarely happens, despite my hopes). I thought: I’ll do this, and that, and then some more of this! Did I?

No.

Instead I sat on the couch watching Bridezillas and then the NZ vs. Australia rugby match, while finishing some cross-stitch. By the time my husband came home I was feeling very lonely and sorry for myself, and more than a little annoyed for sitting on my chuff for the duration of his absense. Oh well.

Sunday was much better. I had a coffee and a walk along the beach with girlfriends in the morning, then a nice looooong rummage around Junk & Disorderly, the most heavenly of second hand shops. I walked out with a wooden L-shaped box that I’m going to have a go at decoupaging, some vintage comic strips and a silver napkin ring that I shall attempt to turn into a pin cushion. Delightful. I got all my wares home and set about sanding the wooden box back, and while I was on the sanding buzz I dragged out a sewing table I bought over a year ago, that has sat in our shed. Husband was very pleased to see that work had commenced on that particular project!

Then more craft shopping in the afternoon, a visit with my parents and a healthy dinner of chicken wraps… Just one more day in the weekend would have been ideal, but mostly I feel pretty content with my lot and I think that is a good way to start the week.

Will take some photos tonight of other works in progress and write my Handmade Harbour blog post. Now back to Day Job!

xox

2 thoughts on “Quick weekend W.I.P

  1. i wonder what your pincushion going to look like using this metal pod 🙂
    good luck with the project.
    thanks for visiting my blog. x

    • Thanks Martha 🙂 I wonder too – hopefully incredibly cool and chic! Hahaha, actually I will settle for anything that resembles a pin cushion – at the moment it is sitting in pieces on my workbench waiting for me to crack the code x

Leave a Reply

