Handmade Monday (or Tuesday for me)

JustΒ a quick post today as I covered off my weekend in yesterday’s WIP post. Last night I got home and cut a bunch of rectangles to be sewn into purses. Here is the first of them – I took other photos but they are blurry in the light of day. So is this one, but I think you can see the gist.

All waiting to be sewn up… Cross stitch polka dot purse, fully lined, silk back and chunky zip. Yum!

I have also had a brain wave about how I am going to turn the napkin ring below into a pin cushion. Even though it was an 11pm idea, I must have been satisfied with the potential solution because I was still able to nod off to sleep shortly after the lightbulb moment. Hurrah!

I am in luuuurve with these photos – they turned out much better than the fabric rectangles and my jumble of zips that I also attempted to photograph.

Hello little napkin ring. Hard to make napkin rings look exciting, although the geometric print fabric in the background is rather snazzy. I have some polystyrene and foam board at home – I need to cut into a circle to fit the bottom of the napkin ring, which will form the base. I think plan on cutting a circle of fabric to cover the base, and will glue it all into place. I’ve never done these before so will be interesting to see how they turn out!

I have no idea what this little guy was originally – perhaps a little salt dish? Anyway – his new purpose is to be filled with fluffy stuff, have a gorgeous little fabric top put in there, and voila – repurposed into a pin cushion. Gorg!

Now to skive off from Day Job for just a little bit longer and check out the other crafty folk over at Handmade Monday.

15 thoughts on “Handmade Monday (or Tuesday for me)

    • Ah, thank you! Although perhaps if you’d seen my sausage fingers… I think I’d struggle to get more than one in there at a time!

    • Thanks Helen – I’ll be having a big sew up mission this weekend so hopefully will have a gallery worth of photo to share next week πŸ™‚

    • Hmm, perhaps 1 part tease, 2 parts procrastinator! I did a bit of design testing last night and it didn’t go as I had planned which always annoys me. Never mind – I’ve rethought and need to get some new materials for attempt 1.2, and will definitely take some pics once I have well and truly cracked the code πŸ™‚

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ It will indeed be a good idea if I can make them work – my 11pm stroke of genius didn’t actually work so it’s back to the drawing board. Oh well – I guess that is what it is all about! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  1. I love the idea of a napkin ring made into a pincushion! I know what you mean about those flashes of genius – some work and some don’t. It’s always fun to find out though! x

    • I’m quite proud for persisting! A younger, less-wise version of myself probably would have gone myeh and walked away. Perhaps because I blogged about it I now feel a committment to follow through, and that’s a happy thing indeed x

    • It’s frustrating, hey! I have actually considered getting out of bed and taking action on these ideas but it’s chilly outside the covers at the moment and staying warm and snuggly (if wakeful!) is the preferable option. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Stephen. The napkin ring is turning into a labour of love as I keep having to rethink and slightly adjust to get it perfect. I’m nearly there – the latest is that fabric covers are possibly too clumsy, I am thinking needle felting might be the way to go. Stay tuned – it’s sure to reach a nail-biting climax this week πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

