From rage to anxiety

So now that I have made the committment to appear at the Birkenhead Artisan Markets on September 15th (NB: haven’t heard back from the organiser if my stall is confirmed, but I’m planning to be there so can continue to build up stock), I’m feeling a little bit of craft anxiety. And I’m not sure if it is actually better than Craft Rage!

Will people like my stuff enough to buy?

What about the price – too high, too low?

Will I have enough to sell?

All I can do for now is craft my little socks off and do my best. This is all part of the fun (I think!) and what will be will be. I’m very lucky to have had a great friend commit to spending the day at the stall to keep me company and help sell, sell, sell. Hurrah!

I’m apprehensive that I have focused too much on my cross-stitch purses – as with the crochet, they’re time consuming and I am worried I’m not going to be able to make enough to make it worthwhile. Instead should I be focusing more on my silk and linen purses? Argh – you could actually go a bit nutty overthinking this stuff. I think I will proceed as I am – here’s my list of what I hope to be selling:

  • Crocheted fingerless gloves (just in time for NZ summer – doh!).
  • Crocheted baby beanies, with flower button attachments as optional extras. Check them out here.
  • Bad ass cross stitch money pouches
  • Appliqued baby onesies
  • Silk & linen purses

I think for the crocheted items, I would be smartest to have a few samples (enough to make the stand look tempting!) made up, but have order forms so that I can give people the option of choosing their colourway. I’ve made a few two-toned gloves for my friends that have been really popular – each side being made of a different colour, so effectively you can wear one pair of gloves two ways. The yarn I use is a beautiful cotton blend and comes in DELICIOUS colours, so I’m hoping they’ll be popular on the stand.

Anyway – I’m excited and nervous about this. Need to sideline the nerves and harness the excitement, and get crafting!

x

Leave a Reply

